The government has simplified the procedure of temporary residence permit application

On October 9, 2020, the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine adopted Resolution № 933, which simplifies the procedure of issuing temporary residence permits for certain categories of foreigners.

Namely, foreign citizens have the right to apply for temporary residence permits without leaving Ukraine due to the change of purpose of entry/stay.

We would like to remind that earlier citizens of Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Belarus, and Moldova who arrived in Ukraine before getting a right to apply for a temporary residence permit were compelled to leave Ukraine and to re-enter.

From now on the foreigners who are staying temporarily on the territory of Ukraine, and who in accordance with the laws and international treaties of Ukraine are not required to obtain a long-term visa (D), have the right to apply for a TRP without leaving Ukraine, if they have a ground for such application.

The innovations don’t concern to citizens of a country recognized by the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine as an aggressor or an occupying state.

These changes came into force on the 9th of October.